Des O'Neill's material, Do You Rate it?

Discussion in 'GAMSAT' started by pancorjack, Jul 18, 2006.

1. pancorjack

pancorjack New Member

Hello,
    I'm new to this GAMSAT malarkey. There does seem to be huge array of mystery associated with this exam and the best way to prepare for it, its quite unlike my first degree (ecology). I was wondering what everyone's views were on the Des O'neill material as i was thinking of signing up for the whole course at £360. I have trawled through ~50% of all the threads on this entire forum about the GAMSAT in the last week (tiring!) and I gather that the consensus is that:

1) Des's Science-Revision Home Course notes are very comprehensive, but on the downside sometimes give too much emphasis on general biology issues like photosynthesis that rarely come up in the GAMSAT.

2) Des's essay marking is thorough but not everyone agrees that it is that good.

Anyone got opinions on these first 2 points?

I have not read a lot about the quality of questions that des sends you with the MCQ's and Exam Home study Course. Any opinion from people how closely these correlate to the real GAMSAT test questions?

Overall I would like to say thankyou to everyone who has posted on this board already, the amount of information given has been overwhelming (in a good way!) and has helped allay my not inconsiderable fears about this ominous GAMSAT.

Will Wagstaff

2. Kim leanne

Kim leanne New Member

i'm also thinking of doing the des course but your fears concern me. Anyone out there have answers?

3. midnite-oil

midnite-oil New Member

Personally, I thought the material was really comprehensive and don't think I could have achieved such a high mark without. (I have a way-past-its-sell-by-date maths degree.)