Dilemma

Discussion in 'Mature Students' started by Maria87, Jan 26, 2013.

1. Maria87

Maria87 New Member

Imagine you were in this situation, what would be your point of action?

I was losing hope of being invited for an interview this year as my ukcat score was very low (557) and decided to start preparing for next year's entry (or this year's Irish uni entry). I registered for Gamsat Ireland in March and booked my train tickets but yet to book a hotel room.

Last week, I found out that I have a medical school interview scheduled for next month at Aberdeen. I was very excited, but then I started thinking what would be the best thing to do at this point, to sit Gamsat or not. I haven't started revising for it (as I have been very busy with uni and only just finished), however, I studied Biology and Chemistry up to Advanced Higher level in 2005. My plan was to spend all of Feb and March literally revising.

I would love to study in Scotland as it works out way cheaper than in England or Ireland. But the thing is, if I don't get into Aberdeen then I will have nothing lined up for next year and it means I will have to quickly find a job in the meantime. Whereas if I sit Gamsat Ireland and do well then I will be guaranteed a place this year (in one of the irish unis), which is alright but is not the best option for me.

Argg, I think I know what I should do now! Cancel Gamsat and make sure I get that place at Aberdeen!!

What do you think guys?

Edit: My train ticket is non-refundable and non-exchangable :(( It's booked on the 22, returning 25 March for two people (£127)!

#1 Maria87, Jan 26, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2013
  2. Zedd

Zedd Member

Sounds to me like you don't really want to do the GAMSAT or go to Ireland. Plus there's the thought of Irish fees... *shudder*

Personally, I had thought about GAMSAT but in the end the extra effort to prepare for it and the fees involved if I were successful in Ireland meant I rejected the idea pretty quickly.