1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

For any applicant who thinks that there is a chance they might have dyslexia/dypraxia

Discussion in 'UKCAT' started by pixies89, May 31, 2010.

1. pixies89

pixies89 New Member

For any applicant who thinks there is a chance that they might have dyslexia/dypraxia

Hello

I just thought I would share my experiences as I feel it is very likely that I am not the only person who will be in a similar position. In summary, I would like to encourage anyone who thinks they might have special educational needs to look into this before applying to medicine.

I went to a comprehensive school where I was a straight A student, I was moved ahead a year at the age of 4 and remained in this position until I left school to go to university at 17. I obtained As/A*s in my GCSEs and A levels and went to a highly competitive university to study philosophy. I gained a high 2:1 in my degree, with several 1st class marks whilst taking part in a large number of extracurricular activities and having a busy social life.

I first noticed some difficulties whilst completing my degree, particularly with regards to structuring essays. I had also always been very clumsy, quite forgetful and not very good at sport. It crossed my mind that I might be dyspraxic but I did not consider it worth looking into.

I decided to apply for medicine and applied immediately after graduating. I wanted to stay in London but was very unhappy to score only slightly above average on the UKCAT. I had loads of work experience and felt my application was pretty strong so decided to go ahead and apply for London Universities, but was fairly disheartened by my result in the UKCAT.

In my UKCAT, I scored below average on DA and AR. I have always been quite good at maths and this dragged my score up quite a lot.