Should I quit CT1 anaesthetics for GP?

Discussion in 'Anaesthetics' started by MightyMusketeer, Nov 20, 2012.

1. MightyMusketeer

MightyMusketeer New Member

Hi all,

I'm new here but was hoping to canvas some advice...

I'm currently a CT1 anaesthetics trainee with a non working wife and two small children. Our lives so far have been spent two years here, four years there e.t.c. with the outcome of leaving small pockets of friends in various locations which are hard to keep in touch with. My wife and I struggle with the frequent moves, but at least I get to go to work. However, she constantly finds herself in the situation of having to make new friends and with the knowledge that we'll be moving on in two years.

Together with that, I'm currently leaving the house at 7am and generally not getting back before 6pm. The kids then go to bed about 6.45pm. Sometimes I can go several days without even seeing the kids. The job so far isn't the problem, I'm actually quite enjoying it, but the prospect of a very similar looking schedule for the next seven years of training only then to be competing for a consultant job which perhaps isn't where we want to live is a complete turn off. Add to that all the extras I'll need to do to look even vaguely competitive at interview and it's starting to feel a little overwhelming! I really would like to see my kids grow up! And, of course, see my wife. I did after all marry her to spend time with her.

So, I'm thinking of applying for general practise and giving up my CT training post at the end of January and locuming until the August. The aim would be to be a sessional GP and perhaps undertake LTFT training. However, I've also toyed with the idea of not applying for GP until this time next year, which would mean 18 months out of a training job. This would give me time to tick off a few GP related diplomas e.g. child health, O&G. This makes me a little nervous though as I would be a long time out of a stable job.